History of the North Ryde Dockers Junior AFL Club

A document presented to the 2006 Committee read…

“Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the North Ryde Australian Junior Football Club, Thursday November 4th 1965”. Accepted as a true and correct document, the timing of AFL football was established in the Ryde district 40 years ago by Mr & Mrs Ted Barden. Mr Reg Yaldwyn was the clubs first Chairman. During this period in time the club has progressed and diminished in administration and participation.

The present Committee are now setting about to find the gaps in our past history to complete the full picture. In March 1997 local Ryde resident Andrew Moylan reformed the club under the Constitution of the North Ryde RSL and Youth Club. Andrew’s efforts with his wife Cathy re-established the club, playing competition games at ELS Hall Park in Marsfield and making the Ryde community aware AFL was back on the local sporting agenda as a new alternate winter sport for young children’s participation.

The AFL now successfully competing the code nationally in all states of Australia with improved media coverage and participation at junior levels launched a new program called “Auskick” which became the successful club recruitment program and is still today the new backbone of AFL in junior and school levels.

North Ryde Dockers won “Club of the Year” for the efforts in 1997 and again in 1998. Numbers in the club grew over the next few years, A break away group formed and went to Drummoyne Oval and established the Drummoyne Australian Football club to further enhance the code on our district shores. In 2002 Andrew and Cathy Moylan departed from the club as their boys progressed onwards in their sports. Both were awarded the clubs first inaugural “Life Memberships” for the efforts re establishing the club successfully.

In 2004 the Best and Fairest award to the player in the most senior team fielded by the club would receive the “Moylan Medal”. The inaugural winner was Daniel Brian followed by Daniel Baskett in 2005. Also in 2005 boys who had played over 100 junior games representing the club were awarded “Player Life Memberships” of the North Ryde Football Club.

Local primary schools adopted AFL as a new school sport with the Paul Kelly Cup and Friday afternoon PSSA competitions at ELS Hall Oval. Marist College Eastwood continued with AFL for the senior boys with a new north west Sydney Thursday afternoon competition. 2005 – Local Member for Lane Cove Anthony Roberts accepts the nomination to become the clubs patron, Local sporting establishment “Next generation” is the clubs new home for training and meetings with a new sponsorship arrangement. President Mark Lee and Drummoyne senior coach Darren Lewtas form the “Power Roos” a combination of North Ryde and Drummoyne under 16 players. They then form a pathway agreement for future junior football players at senior level with local Sydney Football League club Balmain. The Power Roos travel to Melbourne for the in augural “Melbourne Challenge” against the Macleod Football Club. Daniel Basket and Chris Glover are named best players.

North Ryde Kangaroos were awarded the “Club of the Year” by the Northside Association for 2005 and the Sydney Swans also awarded them the “Junior Club of the Year”. In 2006 the Committee adopted the motion to move away from the North Ryde RSL Youth Club and set the Club as an “Incorporated Club” with more freedom to set our own agendas in the code of AFL. Mark Lee was elected President and continued with the past committee to re establish the club. February 22nd 2006 the Club is incorporated, as the “North Ryde Dockers Australian Football Club”, fielding six teams for the season in the newly formed “Greater Sydney Junior AFL” competition.

ELS Hall oval Marsfield remains the only dedicated AFL ground in the municipality of Ryde and were presented new AFL goalposts by the A.F.L. on Tuesday 23rd May 2006 to establish the true identity and the future home of the AFL code in Ryde

2008 saw North Ryde Dockers reach the Grand Finals in 3 Divisions The Under 13 team winning a Premiership. The Under 15 team combined with Concord Cats and against all odds also secured a Premiership. The Under 16 team combined with Hollyroyd Parramatta Goannas and contested the Grand Final and were unsuccessful.”